Fuzzy Thoughts About Karaoke Night
19 August 2006 at 3:36 pm

The chaos ensued and I had messages for everyone.

I ran after Elaina as she was leaving because she needed to know:
�Elaina, Elaina! You don�t need anyone but yourself.�

I explained her to the guests I had brought into the melee: she gets herself into relationships with too many girls and then blames them for her inability to care about one person at a time.

�It�s her fault for looking so good tonight.�

I hope she read my nonverbal response as, �It�s your fault for looking.� Then she incomprehensibly compared herself to me, but wouldn�t tell me how.

Kevin, after finishing a Sublime single (it was karaoke night), needed me to know that besides his girlfriend and the boss, I was the only genuine girl. I was just tipsy enough to not take the compliment and asked him what he meant. But he was drunk: �You�re like � true � you know what I�m talking about.� Sure.

His girlfriend, Linda, complained all night about how I had been an hour late. I hadn�t missed anything (except for her, sober), but she brought it up at every nanosecond�s silence. I wasn�t quite sure how I felt about her until a few weeks ago when she started confiding in me about her boyfriend, and I realized that I don�t really like people unless they trust me.

Almost everyone else in our group, including myself, was just between tipsy and drunk. Walter � �Looks like you�re having a blast, as usual� - was stoic, in spite of the wicked hangover he would have today.

I had never been to a karaoke night, and still have not been properly initiated, but I was shocked to find that Aaron�s a karaoke junkie. After almost four years, you�d think it would have come up in one conversation or another. This was the first time I�d heard him sing in public, and I described the experience thusly: �It�s like watching your kid in a school play. You�re so nervous for them, and even if they do really well, the whole thing still sucks.�

It was one of the better nights here in Santa Barbara.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.