Discombobulated
15 August 2006 at 4:55 pm

I don't know quite when it happened -- actually, I do, it's when I moved to Seattle -- but I really don't know how to make friends with girls anymore. I get along with boys fabulously, but aside from Liz and Sam and some girls at work (which doesn't really count since we get paid to hang out), I haven't made any new girlfriends for years. I don't miss it until I realize what I'm missing. Sam came to visit this week and it was nice to have actual Girly Conversations. You can't casually bring up chronic UTIs with boys (well, I do with Aaron, but he doesn't have a choice). [editorial warning: runon sentence ahead] I think the problem is, whenever I'm around girls, I become a bitch, but in a fun way, not a mean-spirited way, although it's often construed to be bitchy bitchy instead of girly bitchy. I know you girls know what I'm talking about. Guys are just easier to befriend because I think girls, no matter what the circumstance, have this competitive vibe going on.

So yeah.

I've been going out way too often. Since Sam was in town, we went out on Thursday and Friday, Saturday something else happened, and Sunday was bowling night with L3v1s coworkers. The weekend before found me at two houseparties. I'm still keeping up with schoolwork and not missing work or classes as a result, but I am not a social creature. Indeed, one might call me antisocial, so it takes a lot of energy for me to have any fun when I'm out and about and the result is a very tired, soggy Morgan.

In other news, this

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.