What I Did On My Day Off
07 August 2006 at 9:34 pm

I happen to have very thick hair. The reason I mention this is for all other thick-haired girlies (and guysies, I guess) out there: the best pomade/mousse/styling cream for my hair, at least, is straight-up conditioner. You can experiment with how much works, but if I put a dime-sized puddle into my hair, it soothes frizzies, lets me play with it a little, and generally just makes my hair happy. Plus, when you wash it, it's super soft.

I cleaned and I cleaned and I cleaned on Sunday, my first and last day off for, like, ever. I scrubbed the kitchen and the bathroom, organized the room, vacuumed, did all the laundry, WASHED MY CAR ALL BY MYSELF (for the first time since I was 9), and that's about it.

The new roommates seem to be working out well, except that I took the girl to the dog park with me today and asked her lots of questions and she gave two word responses and didn't ask me anything, so I just gave up and pretended to be distracted by the dog. She's really nice around her boyfriend, but I can't decide if she's shy or doesn't have much to say.

Classes started again today. I'm currently reading Pynchon, who is kind of blowing my mind, and some Irish poetry. It's a nice juxtaposition -- mindfucking 60s prose and lyrical Irish poetry.

There's a family reunion happening this week. My brother and mama are going as the diplomats from California; I graciously bowed out, citing school as a genuine excuse. I'll see everyone over Christmas, so I don't feel too badly about it.

Aaron's Vespa has blown a piston, so I'm off to pick him up from work. And then sleep. Glorious, lovely sleep.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.