Why yes, I would like some cheese with this whine
31 July 2006 at 4:54 pm

My coworker told me today that he could cover my to-do list if I wanted to go home. I thought about it for a second and told him that I need to be somewhere where I can deal with things that are within my control.

English paper due on Tuesday: need to write 3 more sonnets and a one page synopsis. Estimated duration: one hour.

Anth problem paper due on Wednesday: have read materials. Estimated duration: seven hours.

English final on Thursday: have stayed on top of reading and notetaking but still feel completely unprepared. Estimated duration of studying necessary to do well: three hours. Estimated duration of studying necessary to pass: half hour.

Anthropology final on Friday: same as English. Estimated duration of studying necessary to do well: three hours. Estimated duration of studying necessary to pass: one and a half hours.

Work schedule: every day at fin shop. Tonight and Wednesday night at L3v1's.

Now that Aaron has finally gotten around the filing for bankruptcy, the proceedings are hell. The lawyers are telling us they need my paystubs for the past six months ... and our roommate's paystubs, since we all split the rent. This is not only impossible, but absurd. I have consulted with my dad who provided me with some helpful information and we're meeting with the lawyer next week so that I can tell them why we're not going to do that, but will they please still represent Aaron? Until then, I can't do a goddamn thing about it but I'm stressing about it. And this wasn't supposed to affect me at all since it's not my fucking debt. So that's one thing out of my control.

The girl roommate is gone and the guy is leaving ... at some point ... maybe sometime ... sort of ... so we have a couple moving from Iowa that we said could move in on Friday and told him that he's going to have to be out by then. But we've had people flake out on us before, so I have six other people coming to look at the house tomorrow night. So that's another thing that I'm trying to control but can't above and beyond what I'm already doing. But I sure can stress about it!

Aaron's birthday is on Wednesday and we're doing a nice dinner on Friday and I've already bought him presents, and I've been making schedules to the hour (I even penciled in "Write therapeutic diary entry" for 5pm) for all the shit I have to get done this week and there is no way that I can do anything for him on Wednesday aside from telling him happy birthday before I pass out on top of my notes.

I don't have a day off until Sunday, which means I will be working for 14 days straight, but at least these classes will be over. Until Monday, when the second summer session starts and I'll have a whole new batch of classes to fall behind in.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.