Going the Distance
20 July 2006 at 11:07 pm

When my brother and I were still living at home, my mom noted that every time we messed up, she was on her period. I always wondered if it wasn't that we timed our fuck-ups as much as our mishaps just seemed more like fuck-ups during that time. Anyway, I'm noticing that cycle too: Aaron's working the graveyard shift tonight and I'm doing my usual 9:30am-9:30pm school/work schedule, so I asked him to make me dinner when I came home at 5:00pm. I called him at 4:45pm, on my way out the door, to remind him and he was at the dog park. He had forgotten. Maybe yesterday or tomorrow, this wouldn't be a big deal, but right then I was having a slight breakdown over it because I can't have pierogies anymore like I wanted because they take too long to make, so I'm stuck eating yogurt and peaches for dinner. We ended up resolving the fight, after I took a couple of unnecessary jabs at him ("I ask you to do one thing for me and you can't even handle that! I do the bills and work two jobs and blah blah sameold sameold) and he refused to say anything in his defense after awhile because it was just making me angrier (especially when he said, "We were due for a fight anyway, and if it wasn't this, it would have been something else, because this isn't that big of a deal" -- true, but when I'm upset, I want validation) so he dropped me off at work after whipping me up a quick salad (proscuitto and blue cheese and balsamic vinagrette, mmm) and we decided to let it go. We're getting pretty good at condensing our fights.

Last night my store manager took me to a meeting with her pyramid scheme buddies (well, they don't think it's a pyramid scheme, but it obviously is). I went for curiosity -- I know how many people get sucked into these things and I was curious what it was like. Another coworker came with us and we were just staring at each other the whole time, like, cult alert! So creepy. They ended up coming back to my house to share a bottle of wine the manager had gotten for free earlier that day somehow, and all of a sudden, there were 7 people at my house and it was the first time in months I'd had anybody over. It was fun, but ... I dunno, I'm not that great at having superficial friends. I did manage to get a few classic Morgan one-liners in (for example, D asked, "Have you noticed how everyone in Seattle is ugly?" and I responded, "That's where I met my boyfriend. Bitch." This killed for some reason and they were repeating it for hours), so at least my humor was appreciated.

I'm heading to LA tomorrow to see the play my friend's directing, and then I'm going to sleep over at her house and head back on Saturday with a stopoff in San Marino to visit a museum for extra credit for my English class. I haven't been to a museum in years -- I think the last time I went was a MoMA field trip in 7th grade -- so we'll see if I can appreciate the more cultural things now that I've aged.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.