For a Living
08 April 2006 at 4:32 pm

Mmm. Strawberry Crush in a glass bottle.

Aaron finally, finally, finally made his maiden voyage on the Vespa. We caved and took it to the Vespa shop downtown where they told us there was a crack in the Magikal Inner Sanctum Seal or something...I don't know, my ears turn off when people talk about How Things Work. But they did a bunch of other tune-up-y stuff to it and Aaron drove it all around downtown before dropping it off at the house of the guy who was trying to fix it up before but couldn't. I was happy to hear that he didn't mess anything up, though, and it took the Vespa guys a little while to figure out exactly what was wrong with it anyway, so I'm relieved that it's not just us being idiots. That's been the hardest part of owning this Vespa: the constant self-doubt. Can we not ride it properly because we're mechanically retarded? Did we get screwed with this fucking machine? Was this the worst idea in the history of bad ideas? And the answer to all of those is, delightfully, no.

We had to leave it at the guy's house downtown because Aaron had to get to work and it was starting to rain, so we didn't want to deal with slippery roads and these ridiculous socal drivers on our first official day being able to ride it.

I got the office job, which is great on several levels. It's two miles from my house and school, instead of 20 minutes like the L3vi's job would have been, and parking won't be a problem, like it would have been at the other job, and it's $2.50 an hour more. Plus, I will rarely, if ever, have to deal with the general public. Hours are semi-flexible and I start on Monday, instead of at the beginning of May, which would have been the situation with the other job. Hooray!

I spent all of yesterday doing every single piece of dirty clothes that exists in my life, including the hand-washed stuff that I'd been putting off for months. My roommates do laundry constantly -- it's literally the first and last thing they do on any given day -- so I have to catch the machines right at the right moment in order to get everything done. It's kind of annoying, since the washer and dryer are Aaron's and mine, not the landlords, and the roommates didn't contribute anything to them, but they're moving out in June anyway so I'm not going to make an issue of it.

That's another thing, the roommate's friend is moving out here (supposedly) so they all want to get a place together. I'm a little sad because I got along with these roommates as well as I could get along with anyone, but they may not move out at all seeing as how they were supposed to be gone at the end of this month and they've pretty much given up on that and I haven't heard anything about their friend definitely coming. I think it was just an idea that sounded good in theory but doesn't make a lot of sense in actuality.

Aaron made the best batch of bolognese ever last night. I will never understand how he manages to make things taste so delicious. Even if he gave me an exact recipe with exact times for making everything, it wouldn't be half as good as when he makes it. But I guess that's why he cooks for a living and I don't. In fact, I don't think I could cook a decent meal if my life depended on it. Let's hope it never comes to that.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.