I fucking hate school
03 April 2006 at 12:13 pm

I'm trying to crash a class that I really want to take, an English class on Ernest Hemingway with a teacher who promises no midterm or final, just daily one-page writings on whatever we want, and I'm pissed. I emailed him at the beginning of LAST quarter to get on the waiting list, and I'm still at the bottom of the list because I'm not a graduating senior. I have been checking the web site to sign up for classes daily since then to see if any spaces have opened up, and there are 4 spaces open, but the department closed the class weeks ago to avoid people adding the class when there are people on the waiting list. Which, I can understand, but shouldn't I get some sort of priority since I was one of the first people to get on the waiting list? Here's the real reason I'm pissed: regardless of how many classes I take, I (well, ok, my parents) pay the same amount of money. I don't pay a certain fee per unit, like I did at City College; it's $2500 whether I'm taking 3 or 5 classes. For the past two quarters, I haven't been able to crash two courses that would have allowed be to graduate at the end of the year. Now, I have to stay an extra quarter and pay an extra $2700 (because tuition is always rising) because the fucking school isn't making enough money by jacking up textbooks and bullshit fees to offer enough fucking classes to get students out in four years. The normal time for students to graduate at this school is 5 years. Is that because people are slacking off, or overexerting themselves by double majoring? No, and with absolutely no factual basis except my own experiences, it's because there aren't enough classes to go around. SDLkfjal! Fucking bullshit bureaucracy.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.