Pig
25 February 2006 at 10:25 pm

So I've been reading bitterwaitress.com and a lot of non-servers comment on why tips shouldn't be expected or mandatory. Here is why tipping is expected and often mandatory: in order to get employees to put up with the shit customers shovel into their server's lives, employers would have to pay $12-30 an hour just to get people to work for them, not to mention the $9-15 an hour for all the bussers, hostess, etc, who are tipped out, instead of paying their servers what is often below minimum wage. That means that food sales would go through the roof. That means that you, as a customer, are actually saving money when you tip your server. Oh, and? When something is comped, regardless of the reason? The server still worked her ass off to get it to you, so include it in the entire food bill when you're figuring out the tip; it's still going to be less money than if you had to pay for the comped item.

Anyway. I found some sparking moscato in North Beach as well as some unbelievably strong lemoncello, so I am sitting pretty right now. Workout regime begins next week (unless I feel like putting it off again) because I have been an unbelievable pig.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.