Happy Valentine's Day!
14 February 2006 at 1:48 pm

I knew, somewhere in my head, that Valentine's Day was coming up and that it might be in a week, that it may be tomorrow, and that it just so happens to be today, but I didn't really comprehend what that actually meant. Aaron and I don't really do Valentine's Day, as it is the busiest restaurant day of the year and he, of course, has always worked in restaurants, but we don't hate it and do sweet little things like say, "Happy Valentine's Day!" on the appropriate day because the important thing is that you both remembered, right?

No, that's totally wrong, and when Aaron woke me up with orange and yellow roses (they didn't have peach, which are my favorite) and a cup of coffee I was tickled and pleased that, (a), yay for my boyfriend being nice, and (b), he remembered when I totally didn't. I made him waffles, and waffles are totally equal to flowers in terms of romantic meaning.

A few years ago in San Francisco, I made some cornbread and for some reason thought it would be cute to cut a heart out of the cornbread and present it to Aaron. Nothin' says lovin' like cornbread hot from the oven! He thought it was So cute that he refused to eat the cornbread heart and put it in a baggie in the freezer, where it stayed until we moved (he left his heart in San Francisco). So today I'm going to make some more cornbread and I'm going to make him a new heart. And possibly take a trip to Target because he just complained about not having enough white undershirts (even though I know for a fact he's got, like, 10 clean at any given moment because I do the laundry but apparently they aren't the Right kind, even though they are all clearly white and clearly undershirts. Boys.) But, any excuse to go to Target.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.