Angerball
21 January 2006 at 1:57 pm

So I've been trying for a few weeks now to read this book recommended to me by ex-roommate bitch Sarah. It chronicles the incestuous family tree that leads to the protagonist's being a hermaphrodite. I can usually read books within a few days, regardless of length and quality, but every time I pick this one up it pisses me off so much that I end up throwing it across the room. But it came so highly recommended that I'm pushing through, reading a few pages every night, and I still have half the book to go.

Here's why is makes me so unbelievably angry: it's written more like a bloated movie treatment than a novel. Phrases like "We enter upon this scene" and referring to characters as "Chapter Eleven" instead of my older brother are littered through every paragraph. It's just not well-written. And it won the Pulitzer Prize! GOD. Not since attempting to read Anais Nin (which I literally threw into the trash 50 pages in) has a book angered me so for its undeserving success.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.