I'm a bad friend
21 December 2005 at 2:35 pm

I've never been a very good friend. I don't call back when I say I will, I promise to go out but never deliver, and I almost always forget birthdays even if you remind me the day before. The only birthdays I know off the top of my head are my own and my brother's. I know the month of Aaron's, my parents', Esp's, and Joanna's birthdays but not the exact day. I've never been big on buying presents for specific celebrations so I tend to just buy something if I find the perfect thing for someone and then give it to them when I see it next. Anyway, the point of all this is that I feel terrible for forgetting Esp's birthday AGAIN because I know it's a big deal to her and even though my birthday isn't a big deal to me (even my grandma, she of the obsessive birthday present giving, combines my birthday and Christmas presents), I respect that birthdays are big deals to other people. And so, a heartfelt apology to Esp and everyone else's birthday I forgot this year.

Tonight's the huge xmas party at Aaron's work. There's going to be 1200 people there and Aaron and I are both dressing down in spite of the fact that I believe it's one of the fancier events in the area. I bought Aaron a new sweater and new pants yesterday (it took us 5 hours ... he's a horrible shopper) only to come home and find out that he owns two sweaters that are exactly the same as the one we bought in addition to the fact that he decided $100 is too much to spend on pants even if he does desperately need nice black pants (the only semi-formal black pants he owns are the ones he got from that old man). So he's wearing black jeans and a sweater and a shirt with a collar and I'm wearing my new year's dress from last year with the shoes Aaron got me for xmas last year. And now you know.

Bejeweled beckons. Am I obsessed? Oh yes I am.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.