Spartacus
16 December 2005 at 10:05 pm

Aaron and I went to see King Kong tonight and I CRIED and I CRIED and I CRIED. I had to bite my finger to keep from crying out loud, but the tears, they were streaming. All around me were teenaged boys pretending to yawn and then wiping away yawn-induced tears, but they were totally crying too. Aaron didn't cry though because he was all like, DINOSAURS!!!

I stayed up late last night reading A Girl Named Zippy, which I highly recommend, and only got two hours of sleep before I blinked in amazement at my alarm. 5:30am would have come too soon whether I'd gotten an hour of sleep or twelve. Nobody should be subjected to that hour.

Then I had to work and I pretty much did nothing all day and made no money because it's fucking dead. Well, I made enough money to go see a movie and drink a soda and have some popcorn. All of my tables even tipped me reasonably well, save for the Irish girls but they were foreign and I knew not to expect much from them anyway. I don't mind going in to work, I just hate the hours because I'm basically being given the worst possible hours when I am most certainly not the worst possible server. Blah blah blah, only I can let myself be taken advantage of, but it'd be nice to be rewarded for being a polite employee sometime. This is like the time I kindly informed my PR firm that I would be returning to school a year before I was actually going to be leaving and they used that as an excuse to give me way more work with no extra pay. Bleh.

The roommates headed home today to deal with the tragedy and the holidays and everything. We drove them to the airport and I was reminded of the weekend I flew down here from Seattle, which was the last time I was at this particular airport, and I really only visited because I was suddenly skinny and wanted to show myself off (although losing thirty pounds makes a huge difference when you're 5'1" so I kind of earnedit). God, I'm so gross sometimes. The smallness of the airport reminded me of flying from the tiny Redding airport to Dulles to go to boarding school and how I would be ok until I got into line to get into the waiting room to board the plane (there is only one gate at the Redding Municipal Airport) and then the tears would stream down my face, but I wouldn't let myself cry out loud because it's a lot prettier and classier to cry with your mouth shut. Plus, it was easier to hide from my mom how suddenly heartbroken I was to be leaving her no matter how many times I'd done it before.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.