Why Batman Begins Sucks
28 October 2005 at 11:38 am

One of the roommates and I watched Batman Begins last night. We decided that, at a very young age, boys are implanted with a microchip that enforces their love for ridiculously horrible and hole-filled action movies, because that film? made little to no sense and it came so highly recommended (from boys). It could be that after 20 minutes the roommate and I took to making phone calls and talking about how horrible the movie was that we kind of lost track of what was going on, but that doesn't reflect well on the quality of the film either.. Aaron, bless his heart, defended it to the death -- "but it's the best Batman movie ever!" "but, for, like, a stupid superhero movie it's better than average!" -- if you have to compare the movie to other, shittier movies, it's not that great. And it's not that I don't like superhero action films. The only time I go to the theater is to see the latest incarnation of X-Men or whatever's hot this year, and you know why I go? So I can turn off my brain. I was more than willing to accept that Bruce Wayne just knew ninja martial arts and just happened across all his gadgets, so why are you feeling the need to tell me his motivation and source of everything which only opens up such questions as, why would anyone climb a mountain because some guy told you it might be a good idea? Why was Katie Holmes (whose face is melting off), a reasonably well-paid assistant DA, riding the metro when no one else was on it when, in reality, she probably would have just taken a cab because she could afford it and the metro's creepy and dangerous anyway?

Clearly, I'm a little more upset about this than I should be but that's what happens when you have a stress-filled week that ends and all you want to do is turn off your brain and watch a stupid movie and that stupid movie gets in over its head in trying so hard not to be stupid and then it just comes off as even stupider. So there.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.