Nosepick
12 September 2005 at 8:55 pm

I got a job today! Sort of. And Aaron did too! Sort of.

We were very productive today. Aaron's mom was due at the airport by noon, so we left for Burbank at ten. As much as I adore her, a week entertaining anyone gets a bit tiresome, so I was happy to send her on her way.

We stopped for In-N-Out on the way back (note to self: stop eating) and made good time. This was the first day we had left the dog alone in the yard and there was nary a hole in sight. We were very proud but had little time to celebrate as there was mascara to apply and interviews to be had.

I took Aaron to his first and he came back out after a foot-tapping fifteen minutes with the news that he'd gotten a tryout. I was burbling with the excitement of his potential employment.

He then dropped me off at mine and I was told the person I was supposed to meet was unavailable but that I should fill out an application. I did and brought it to the back of the hotel (I was applying for a server position at their restaurant) where the guy I was supposed to talk to mysteriously appeared and was happy to see me. Suddenly, I found myself back in the hotel lobby interviewing with the restaurant manager. I sold myself on the basis that (a) I'm charming, and (b) they were desperate for AM staff and, pending passing a drug test (easy) and a background check (easier), I will be gainfully employed in a week. Huzzah!

I went to the bank to deposit my checks and we took the dogs to the dog parks, where two basenjis attempted to consume Damien. This was not happening, as the basenjis weighed an approximate total of 30 pounds between the two of them, and Damien weighs 85. Much laughter ensued.

Now I'm home, taking care of business, going through the mail, eating dinner and drinking a glass of wine, willing the mosquito buzzing against the window shades to please not eat me. I can't fucking wait for my brain to return to its normal functioning capacity.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.