To Do
19 August 2005 at 11:50 am

Written on a bus stop bench:

"Bus Stop Haiku

Fuck the Muni bus!
Slamming its doors in my face
Even though I ran."

For the first time all summer, I woke up this morning with the feeling I've had every summer: the unabashed joy that comes with having Nothing to do.

This is not true, though, as I have a lot to do. But the one thing I had planned for today fell through and I received a jolt of pleasure when I thought about how I was going to spend my morning and decided not to do Anything At All All Day.

First thing I Had to do is, not change out of my pajamas. Next, I made coffee, a bowl of sugary cereal, and potato pancakes, JUST BECAUSE I COULD. I'm still tingling with excitement over the endless possibilities of today. Watch a movie at 11:30 in the morning? Sure, I have nothing better to do! Go back to bed after being up for two hours? Why, I haven't done that in years! Not shower, brush my hair, worry about an outfit to wear? What could be better than that? Wee! Today's a great day!

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.