No symbolism here
07 August 2005 at 10:23 pm

The first day and a half were nice, but then we found out Aaron was fired, or technically, "not hired" by the new owners of the restaurant. I balanced the checkbook and, rolled my eyes, sighed, and wished my credit card luck and we found cheap ways to eat until our nontransferable flight back to San Francisco happened.

The best part was, drinking Stella while reading (Kitchen Accomplished for me, The Zombie Survival Guide for him) at the Elephant Pub while waiting to check into our posh hotel. The worst part was, seeing the future for friends and it not looking as grand and glorious as it did when I was 19 and could dream.

What? Cynic? Me?

Wondering, do people I've known since I was 11 look at me and think, your choices aren't good enough for you? You shouldn't be with him, you shouldn't be moving there, you shouldn't shouldn't shouldn't? Do they care enough to think like that?

It was nice to get out of the fog and into the sun for awhile.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.