Draw from this what you will
17 June 2005 at 8:13 pm

Sanam and I had wine and coffee tonight. We talked about life, love, and cynicism, but right now I would like to talk about my relationship with Aaron.

I love Aaron and we're going to be together forever. That sounds so ridiculous, so immature. Why do people break up? Because they want to be with other people? I don't. I see other people I'm attracted to and I don't even think something like, Aaron's probably better in bed than he is; I think, that's an attractive person.

Because they are problems with the relationship? Aaron isn't very mature in the pay-all-my-bills-on-time sense. We're working on that by my paying the bills with him each month. In the same vein, Aaron needs to be mothered: I have to nag him to do the laundry, but we're working on that by making lists of the things that need to be accomplished that week and crossing things off. Aaron doesn't listen to me, but we're working on that by him making a conscious effort to ask me how I'm doing and how my day went and devoting all of his attention to me. I am emotionally insecure, but we're working on that by me controlling my outbursts and tantrums and instead talking rationally about what is or isn't going through my head. I seek too much superficial validation, but we're working on that by me not defining myself by the size of my pants or the number on the scale I am compelled to stand on whenever we're at somebody else's house. I am a slob, but we're working on that by me doing one thing every night to contribute to the general cleanliness of the house.

Because they fall out of love? I fall in and out of love with Aaron several times a month (the phases usually corresponds with my hormone level) and he's ridiculously devoted.

And HOLY SHIT somebody just fired a gun and the sound reverbated through the shrouded city streets and caused the dog and I to jump simultaneously. Just as quickly as somebody could have been killed, the dog sighed, rolled over and fell back asleep, and I moved the curtains aside to see if anyone else was reacting and noticed two things: the sun has reduced the outward-facing side of our curtains to white sheets, and the city looks peaceful when all you see are the buildings.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.