Bay to Breakers and I slept through it again
15 May 2005 at 3:04 pm

I've been asking Aaron obsessively if I've lost any weight. I lift up my shirt and say, "Is it smaller?" I poke at the chub and ask, "Is it less smooshy?" He refuses to tell me and says that it doesn't count if I didn't lose it the right way and he won't be proud of me for losing weight unless I'm exercising and eating healthily. Which I am not. He still refuses to let me buy a scale and looks disturbed when I try on dresses that used to be a little too tight and are now a little too loose.

It's not me, it's the lack of teeth in my mouth though, so it's ok that I've lost a few pounds in the past few days and I guess it's ok that I'm obsessing over how much I've lost?
...
To be a bankable writer, you have to be a good storyteller; the problem with me is, writing come naturally. Grammar, spelling, all of that stuff -- I don't have to think about it. But I'm a horrible storyteller, and that's the part of the equation that has to be instinctual. You can't teach someone to have a sense of irony. I don't believe in taking creative writing classes; either you can write a short story or you can't. I know this isn't true, that those classes are often immensely beneficial, but this is what I tell myself to justify not persuing a career in writing. If no one else sees what I've written, no one can tell me I suck. It's a risk I'm not willing to take.
...
Time for more broth! Mmm mmm good.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.