Pop Culture
04 May 2005 at 9:30 am

If you know me, you know that I have a slight obsession with Michael Ian Black. (I say slight because I've never actually stalked him.) You know him: he was That Guy on That Show Ed. He was That Guy on those I Love The dotdotdot shows. He's currently That Guy on the new Sierra Mist (which is really gross) commercials. He was almost a late-night talk show host on CBS. Those In The Know might also recognize him from The State. Nobody saw Wet Hot American Summer, but he was in there as well.

Anyway, whenever I'm feeling a bit off and Googling pictures of puppies isn't doing the trick, I read his stuff that's in the McSweeney's archives and it tends to brighten my day. I thought I'd post the links so that anyone else having a slightly blue day can be reminded that there is still genuine humor in the world.

8/25/03: The Complete Idiot's Guide To Meeting People More Famous Than You.

9/19/03: Some People Do Not Like Celebrities.

11/14/03: "Have You Ever Eaten A Baby?"

11/30/04: On Being A Candidate To Take Over A Late-Night Network Talk Show.

4/27/05: What I Would Be Thinking About If I Were Billy Joel Driving Toward A Holiday Party Where I Knew There Was Going To Be A Piano

And now, My Thoughts On American Idol Because No One Else Will Let Me Talk About It:

I am rooting for Vonzell. Performers like Bo and Carrie who have a very good grasp of what they're good at singing are not good candidates for an American Idol contract as it is very restrictive and does not allow for very much creative freedom. I know they could have a prosperous career after the show is over because they've gotten all the publicity they could ever hope for (see: Clay Aiken) and could seek a contract on their terms after the season ends. Vonzell, on the other hand, has this incredible voice but she doesn't really know what she wants to do with it; her career would benefit more from the machine that is the American Idol (being told what to sing, how high to jump, etc).

Not that I follow this sort of thing.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.