Horse hockey
10 February 2005 at 10:55 pm

While reading my Bust magazine and resuming my position as RoarWomanPowerGoddess, it occured to me after reading an article on singledom that maybe a reason certain members of an older generation don't like Aaron because, though an antiquated philosophy, he is not a proper boyfriend. He does not always hold doors open for me if I get there first. He doesn't always buy me dinner. He does the laundry. He cooks the meals. And I handle the finances.

While on some level, yeah, it would be nice if I could spend all day shopping and eating KitKats and TiVoing the day away while my husband boinks his secretary, but for the most part I'm happy to be the head of the household (studiohold?).

Because, you know what? I don't need that. I don't need a man or a boyfriend to make life worth living. I need someone for emotional maintenance and cuddles and the dishes, but I don't need someone to support me financially or pull my chair out for me.

Another point: I was talking with my mom about how she was the first female attorney to be hired at a big San Francisco law firm and she downplayed it by saying that in her generation it was all about women firsts. And then I brought up the fact that for my generation, it's about the youngest -- the youngest author or the youngest playwright or the youngest person to ever graduate from college. I was feeling badly about myself for not having really accomplished anything when everyone else seems to have accomplished so much, but the realization that that's kind of the goal of everyone else - to be the youngest to do something or at least to do something with their lives as quickly as possible - made it easier to accept that I'm going to do what I'm going to do and I don't have to have a time limit. Does that make sense? That everyone else is worried about it, that everyone's feels like they haven't accomplished enough for their age?

Insert comprehensive and satisfying ending yourself. I'm too tired.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.