This isn't supposed to be deep
05 February 2005 at 10:36 pm

You remember those stories about that girl from high school who was raped, got pregnant, kept the baby, got a boyfriend, and has her second baby on the way.

You remember when that kid died during a drunk driving accident and you didn't know him until you remember that you were a TA in his class in middle school and the only thing he ever said to you was, "You eighth graders don't care about anything."

You remember when your brother got busted for possession of marijuana and it was such a big deal but it isn't now.

You finish off your third beer and light a cigarette, and hear laughter from outside the dungeon of your apartment and think, how did I get here? What happened before this? What happens now? And now?

You turn on the news and hear what other people did today. What did you do today? Woke up? Took the dog out? Afternoon sex? Conversation with Mom? Watched a movie? Watched the news? Thought about what you did today?

Today I ate a bagel and made plans for tomorrow.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.