Oh? It's Friday?
21 January 2005 at 4:52 pm

So there's this website called The Dark Side of UCSB, or IV rather, and here is the main point it is trying to make:

"Didn�t the whole UCSB party scene create an environment that was a virtual irresistible inducement to two 18-year-olds that prompted them to make a bad choice?"
Taken from here.

The site raises some valid points -- that the administration does virtually nothing to control the IV, but it's a completely separate community from the school so they don't have that sort of authority to really do that, and that the school should offer more sober social options -- but what? So if someone is obese, it's not their eating habits, it's the food's fault for being too yummy? If someone is raped, it's not the rapist, it's the girl's fault for wearing a thong? You don't create a safe community by making rules and regulations, you create good citizens who know right from wrong -- I mean, if you want to be idealistic and overgeneralize. You don't restrict the availability of potentially bad experiences, you raise people who know how and why to avoid them.

Anyway, anything else that needs to be said about that has already been said so I'll leave at this: I spent a good amount of time in IV in various states of mind at all hours of the night and never felt unsafe. Indeed, there was usually someone there making sure I was ok, be it a friend or a kindly stranger. It's common sense.

In other news, I recently found out that a coworker works at the club that's right behind my apartment building. Please note that I am not a fan of this club because it is v. loud and v. obnoxious and they never have any bands that I like anyway. But it was a strange coincidence. I was planning a trip to SB this weekend but one glance at my calendar blew that pipe dream: class orientation tomorrow at 10. Next weekend. Me, my brother possibly, and the dog, roadtripping it up: do I smell a sitcom? I think so! There's nothing else. NOTHING! I feel like Wesley when he almost dies and is revived but can only move his head and then has to stare down the evil prince and fools him into thinking he's strong enough to stab him when really he's not and after the prince surrenders he collapses and that's how I feel: like I'm just hanging on for this final battle but I so kicked its ass even though I didn't.

Right.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.