Outside the door he followed me home
29 November 2004 at 11:48 am

I woke up Sunday at 7am thinking it was Monday. I continued to wake up every hour trying to convince myself that it was indeed Sunday and that I was not going to receive a "You're fired, you fucking moron" call no matter how late I slept in. I was out of bed at 11am, which is an unholy hour on a day off. I woke up this morning pissed off it was no longer the weekend and that I didn't take full advantage of my last day off, but I played Dr. Wario on the bus so I guess I'm better now.

Thanksgiving was a roaring success. After dinner and after the majority of people had left, I played poker with my mom, my stepdad, and one of my stepbrothers. Fun was had by all, though I've lost my poker edge. I came out even.

Things I have to do either today or tomorrow but preferably today:

(1) Write Health Science paper (2 pages, due last Tuesday)
(2) Write UC application essays (1000 words, due tomorrow)
(3) Call CCSF and find out if I really have to write the essays (yes, I do)
(4) Write UC College of Creative Studies letter of intent (due tomorrow)
(5) Decide which stores to send to UC CCS (due tomorrow)
(6) Decide which essays to send to UC CCS (due tomorrow)
(7) Kick myself repeatedly for not taking recommended leave of absence from UCSB
(8) Finish Xmas card list for work (ASAP -- I love that phrase, it's supposed to be all demanding, but really, as soon as possible could be anywhere from now to never. I'm sorry I couldn't redo the three-year-old filing system, I was busy reading Television Without Pity and it Just Wasn't Possible)
(9) Redo three-year-old filing system (ASAP)

You know what's great about Aaron? Aside from everything else, he's an awesome fashion advisor. I picked out a skirt and top to wear today and he pursed his lips and said -- I shit you not -- "I don't think those textures mesh well together." And he was right! I swear he's not gay.

I bring this up because today, I am wearing the most unflattering pants ever. These are the sort of pants that make it a point to display every dimple of cellulite you have, and you know what? I could have done without that knowledge. There's a reason my ass is behind me is: so I can plead ignorance to its size. The point? Get outfits approved by Aaron before leaving house. Also, initiate "diet and work-out freak-out" mode, followed by phase "fuck it what do i care how fat i am let's see how many oreos i can eat at one time!"

Oh -- what else happened this weekend. The trip to Redding was easy. The trip back was easy. Slept in separate beds at my dad's house. The dog survived his first night alone in a yard. Bought my New Year's Eve dress for $128.00, which seems cheaper now than it did then. Bought Aaron a shirt, which he put on in the car and hasn't taken off since. Broke a nail. Went to an open mike and then wandered up and down Haight Street only to end up at Aaron's restaurant getting totally hammered with random houseguest Scott and plotting the demise of everyone pressing against us. Ho-hum.

Back to business: you'll note I've given up the posting of 1- 2- and 3-years ago today tidbits. I've decided that I no longer need to be reminded of the excrutiating minutiae [Seinfeld reference!] of my everyday life of yesteryear.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.