In which I discuss fervently the values of television.
05 November 2004 at 4:41 pm

Oh, Raj, you bumbling idiot.

First of all, the receptionist? Rhonda? TOTALLY rehearses the way she's going to say, "They're ready for you," or "You can go back in now." You can tell the way she pauses for dramatic effect, after it's been announced on SPEAKERPHONE that the bigheads are ready for the littleheads, to poise herself for her Big Line, the way she says it a little differently each week, the way she tilts her head so the cameras get her good side no matter where they're standing -- she could just as well be purring, "I'm ready for my close-up, Mr. Trump." I totally relate to her, obviously, and would milk that miniscule role for everything it' worth. I would make my announcement in different unplaceable accents every week ("They bood rayoom ace raidy for ye nay" or "Thah bode rome ass roody fo yuuu no"). And then I would be the breakout star and everyone would love me, meee!

Actually, there is not second of all. That's all that I have to say about The Apprentice.

And the fucking O.C. writers totally fucked up their season premiere. They set up way too many plot lines, left way too many open, and where was the funny? There was no funny. Even Eyebrows McGee has found himself some tweezers and those bushy twins were practically listed in the opening credits in the first season. You can't just kill off two of the most important and beloved characters without so much as, "Hey, whatever happened to...?" And was it just me, or was Marisa's little "I'm a teen because I can scream and therefore have angst" breakdown ridiculously humorous? When your acting is on par with a piece of Melba toast, a half-hearted attempt to throw a tantrum is tantamount to...I don't know, I just wanted to use the word "tantamount." Also, for an alcoholic she has remarkable enunciation.

three years ago today: nothing.

two years ago today: "i was on tha pill for 8 months and i think i got laid maybe once. maybe."

one year ago today: blah blah. and "are you this boy?"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.