It's like clapping your hands, except no one can see you
30 September 2004 at 11:28 am

Dare I discuss my Phantom Planet experience last night? Hum. The greatest revelation was that heroin doesn't making you skinny like coke does. Heroin is associated with severe thinness because you spend all your money on schmack instead of food. Good to know.

The opening band, Big City Rockers, had a lead singer that I can only assume was raised on Neil Diamond.

My mom went to a Neil Diamond concert once. It was her very first -- and, not coincidentally, her very last -- concert.

After the first song the lead singer raised his right hand, pick between his thumb and forefinger so he was giving the A-OK sign, and muttered with a smirk on his ever-lovin lips: "Do you mind if we rock?"

From now on, every time I do something, anything, I'm going to say that. Passing someone on the bus: "Excuse me, sir, do you mind if I rock?" Having sex: "I'm sorry, do you mind if I rock?" It's never going to get old.

A few songs later, Aaron said, "Yes, actually, we do mind." They sounded okay but their stage presence was like taking a combination of plaids and stripes, Red Bull and pot, an ordinary house plant, and a spastic drummer, tossing them into a blender and creating a power pop catastrophe.

We had already missed the first opening band by the time we got there so the next guys up were Phantom Planet. Allow me to reiterate why I like (love) them so much (unconditionally): Suzy introduced them to me. None of their new stuff compares to "...is missing" but they know how to put on a good show.

The thing I love about concerts is that I get to be so introverted. I don't have to move or dance or nod my head or, least of all, talk to anyone -- I can stand there and think my own thoughts, everything else drowned out by the bass.

It'd been so long since I'd been to a show that I'd forgotten that bass makes my nose itchy.

P.S. NOT PREGNANT AGAIN! WOO HOO! Score 1 my fallopian tubes, 0 Aaron's semen. Ew, that's gross.

one year ago today: "my self-esteem cup should be runneth-ing over, but until i stop seeking validation from other people and am Ok for me, I'm always going to be a pitiful puddle of self-consciousness."

two years ago today: "fucking a indeed." and "Today is not one of those days." and "but to be my own person? that's asking too much of me."

three years ago today: "sick of it"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.