No one can see you try
27 September 2004 at 9:14 am

This is what I wrote on Saturday:

"8a.m. should not exist. In fact, no a.m. should exist. There should just be nothingness from midnight to noon. Nothingness in which we all cease to exist for 12 glorious hours and at exactly 12:00p.m. we come back and continue along like nothing changed. Man, I would have made a much cooler world.

Walking to work today (yes, a Saturday; yes, I hate it; yes, I put in my official two weeks today but I did that three months ago and somehow I'm still on their payroll -- at least it'll look like I held two jobs for six months) I saw my friendly neighborhood Washington Mutual. Living next to it was a new, temporary Halloween store. I glanced up at the top of the building, per my tradition (in case anyone's jumping) and saw a giant spider. And I don't mean, like, the size of my shoe -- I could see if from the street, six floors down. It was a Giant spider, the size of a VW Bug. For a split second, my heart stopped, I couldn't breathe, and I was totally frozen in the middle of Market Street convinced the city was being invaded by eight-legged freaks. Then I put two and two together, the Halloween store and everything, and was glad that I would never see any of the people around me again because I stood there gaping at the building for a notable amount of time.

I don't understand why creepy things are associated with Halloween. Halloween is about death, not creepy crawlies. Why does creepiness have to be associated with death? Why can't we just be like, 'Death, just another day, except not really at all.' Why do there have to be so many myths about it? Why does such an inevitability have to be such a big deal? If we're going to make this a big deal, we should make sunrises a big deal. We totally take those for granted. Or I do at least.

Work is so much more fun, and I'm so much better at this job, when I just don't give a fuck. Every customer that comes in I'm just like, 'Yo, what's up?' and then I completely ignore them. I'd brought in $800 by noon when usually I would have been thrilled with $200. Everyone loves an easy-going gal."

We had a date night at the Metreon. We went and saw Sky Captain and the World of Tomorrow -- I always say the last few words like the guy on Futurama, because that's what I do -- and then wandered around the Metreon. Upon entrance into their arcade, Aaron paused to wipe a tear from his eye. That place is fucking ridiculous -- they have a virtual bowling alley, for chrissake, complete with a fully loaded bar. I wasn't prepared to spend another $30 on mindless entertainment after blowing $35 at the movies so I begrudgingly agreed to return at a [much] later date.

Sunday was dedicated to hunting down a new breakfast place (failed miserably -- for all the restaurants in this city you'd think they'd have at least one genuine greasy spoon) and the beach after I dropped Aaron off at work. The dog and I had oodles of fun with his new Chuck-It. I don't understand this dog at all. He can run for hours upon hours after a ball and then all of a sudden, no warning signs whatsoever, as soon as you huff and puff and heave and ho and throw that goddamn ball as far as you possibly can he's all like, "I'm so over this," and leaves you to do the fetching while he determines whether or not sand is digestable. Whatta poop.

Afterwards we headed back to say hello to Aaron and he offered to make me dinner. Depending on what manager's there, I get a free meal; ain't nothin wrong with that. He surprised me with prime rib and garlic mashed potatoes. When I got home and opened the package I had to bite my lip to keep from crying -- I haven't had a good piece of steak for months. Mmmmmm...the memories of it will keep me warm for the chilly months to come.

My boss bought me coffee this morning! As far as office jobs go, this one is filet mignon amidst New York strip steaks (for lack of a better metaphor) but it's still an office job. And with that, I have some labels that aren't going to make themselves.

one year ago today: nothing.

two years ago today: nothing.

three years ago today: "depressed."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.