Floaters
19 August 2004 at 9:19 am

I had ridiculous dreams last night. I can't remember any of them specifically, but I do remember that they allowed me to think that just because it was 7:30am I could turn off my alarm and continue sleeping. This, unfortunately, was not a valid assumption on my subconscious' part, and I awoke in a panic at 7:45am and rushed out the door in time to catch the 8am bus.

I attended my first math class in three years after work yesterday. The teacher warned us when he said that he was going to take things slow, that he has to assume all of us are average students. If "average student" means that you don't know your prime numbers from your lowest common multiples, then sign me up -- I know all that shit, but anything above and beyond stuff I'd use in an average day is lost on me. It's like my overly-logical brain already knows that it won't need to know when Bill and Kathy are going to arrive at the same destination if one is traveling 5mph and the other at 8mph, so it refuses to allow me to understand it.

Or maybe I'm just stupid.

Either way, if anyone were to attach a polygraph system to me and ask me if I had ever been bored to tears, I would pass when I said, "Yes." Math is boring. And it only lasted an hour last night, not the three hours I was threatened with in the schedule. Damn you, general requirements!

one year ago today: "and then joanna sent me an email that told me why she liked me (i had, after all, been dying to know after 8 years of friendship), and here's why: i recognize and embrace my weaknesses. i guess that's a good thing, but in doing so, i blatantly ignore my strengths."

two years ago today: "i hope boy doesn't call because i don't think we really had anything in common and it would just be awkwardness epitomized, but i'm still going to bitch and moan if he doesn't."

three years ago today: "Perhaps tomorrow I will eat less...until then, I will indulge and enjoy every finger-lickin minute of it!" and "i just want to be there and know how it's going to be instead of thinking how it's going to be."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.