hang on one second
17 August 2004 at 11:47 am

What I'm absolutely missing in my life right now is a decent hobby. Diaryland is not a hobby, it's an outlet at best. Watching TV is not a hobby, it's an escape. Listening to music is not a hobby. Doing the dishes is not a hobby. Working out is not a hobby. Taking care of the dog is not a hobby. At least, none of those things are "pursuits outside [of my] regular occupation engaged in especially for relaxation."

What I really want to do is a stupid little theater production that no one will buy tickets for. I haven't done any real acting since I was a sophomore in high school and I miss it dreadfully. I was in a movie last year, but that was one weekend and I never even saw the final result. I love the process of getting out of myself for a few hours a day. I don't care about doing well, I don't care about teamwork or technique or warmups or audience appreciation, I just like that it's ok to not be myself for awhile. It's takes so much energy to do that, I don't have any left to worry about the things that usually clog my mind.

I knew I should have gotten stoned this morning.

one year ago today: nothin.

two years ago today: "we'd been planning for a few days to go downtown today and panhandle, for sociological purposes. and because we're lame and have nothing better to do."

three years ago today: "'I've had it with you and your emotional constipation!'" and "The more I tell people about my problems, the better I feel. Spreading the joy and all that."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.