Bidet
08 June 2004 at 11:18 am

My dad used to write weekly letters, but now he writes weekly emails. Today, he wrote:

"Mrs. Longnecker recalled Morgan in the sixth grade when she was supposed to be in fifth grade doing eigth grade work. So what happened???

Just kidding. It's nice to know that somebody in your past remembers you."

I used to be great. Rather, I used to be promised for something great. Eh, I'll get there someday.

On Saturday, I slept in until forever and then took off for Amoeba on Haight to obey the demands of our antique (circa 1980) record player, Teddy, who needs more records. We are now proudly in possession of Modest Mouse's newest, Mirah's Advisory Committee, The Clash's something, Franz Ferdinand's album, and The Essential Radio Birdman. Ooohhh yeaaah.

Today, I was late to work. I was having a dream about a silent auction when my phone woke me up. I looked at who was calling -- "Singer Associates" -- and picked up the phone and said:

"Oh shit! What time is it!"

My coworker laughed and said, "Morgan? It's 8:45. It's ok!"

So I said, "Shit shit shit! I'll be there in twenty minutes!"

Thirty minutes later, I was five blocks away stuck in protestor traffic. I threw some money at the cab driver, lept out, and began my five-block speedwalk in heels and a flippy skirt.

This is not something you want to attempt on you average day, but on days when half the streets are closed off to cars and pedestrians, cars are honking incessantly, people dressed as pills and fairies and cucumbers and coming at you from all directions -- well, it's enough to make you lose your mind.

Fortunately, right on the brink of insanity, I made it to my office and put on my best, "What a day I've had and it's only 9:15!" face. Since the bosses are on vacation, it wasn't that big of a deal, but I make it a point to show up ten to fifteen minutes early every day, and I HATE being late to work.

Anyway. Work. Yeah. That.

one year ago today: nothin.

two years ago today: "it was rather amusing. as most things are after 3 bowls worth of bong rips." and "WHO THE FUCK FOUND THIS SITE SEARCHING FOR MY NAME?!" and "defeated. denied. dejected." and "idaho has famous potatoes. their license plate says so."

three years ago today: "I've been up for 23 hours straight now."

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.