Oh-oh
03 May 2004 at 3:15 pm

I�ve been reading her obsessively, since she read me obsessively, and it�s so bizarre to feel so close to someone and not have any idea who they are. Right on sister.

�is what my worker just said to me when she saw that I had snagged some Famous Amos cookies from the back room.

�which is where I�ve been finishing up Wuthering Heights, which I�ve been reading in lieu of my Political Science book for the past fifteen years.

Ok, enough of that.

My dad recently told me that I should take every writing class I have the opportunity to take. He meant it, like, you�re a good writer, now be the best that you can be. But the thing with writing is, once you learn the basics � A is for apple, B is for backslash, C is for comma, which you should use as infrequently as possible � you have to develop your own style. Plus, I hate criticism. I hate it. I don�t want to know what works and what doesn�t. I like my writing just fine, so you can shove it up your illiterate ass.

I kissed and made up with my mum, sorta. The gist of our conversation was, I can�t make decision based on what other people want for me, and yes, that includes Aaron.

I�ve kind of been going crazy around this time each day. My brain starts to shut down, so I�ll try to encourage it with cookies or the other half of the sandwich from lunch, but it�s all like, �I�m all about the naps right now,� when I�m all like, �Brain, if you want to keep enjoying your surroundings, you have to stay conscious and make money,� and it�s all like, �But Mooooorgan, you spoil me so on the weekends, with your 16-hour naps, and then you expect me to be fully functional for the rest of the week? I think not!� Then we duel to the death and I win, but of course, lose at the same time.

See what I mean? Silly brain; here, have an Oreo.

My boss just came out to apologize for an off-color joke some guy made while he was talking to him right in front of my desk. I wasn�t listening to the joke, because I was trying to get my boss�s attention to tell him someone was on the phone, but apparently it was kind of funny, if misogynistic and racist. Either way, I am officially impressed with my boss�s ability to schmooze, because he laughed at the joke like it was the funniest thing since the Marx brothers.

I do not schmooze. I�m the anti-schmoozer. If I�m in the company of someone and I don�t like them, I walk away. If I don�t feel like laughing at somebody�s stupid joke, I don�t laugh. If somebody says something offensive, I say, �Hey, you suck,� and stay out of that person�s presence as much as possible. I�m not here to please anyone but myself.

And people who give me money.

one year ago today: nothing.

two years ago today: �seriously, not only am i incredibly stoned right now, but just reading those two lines out of context is hilarious� and �if this were a judy blume book, that might happen. however, it is not. so i'm just going to chill in my room for the next two weeks, smoking too much pot, and pondering the fact that i've moved 3 times in the past 4 years and does that mean i'm fucked up?� and �i have got to stop having [these] conversations online.� and �that and: FUCK!�

three years ago today: �why does it seem like none of my teachers have seen this movie?� and � The first few days of my life, I was �nameless.��

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.