Rockin socks
12 April 2004 at 12:33 pm

Last night, I was very prepared for today. Today, not so much. The outfit I had picked out yesterday decided to be two sizes too big (an Old Navy size 6 is more like a size 10), so I was running around my apartment frantically crying and searching for a pair of hose, a decent skirt or clean pair of pants, a bra that decreased boob size to fit into my pink sweater without looking like I�m trying to seduce someone, and my cell phone. It was a nightmare, and I missed the early bus but made it to my stop 5 minutes early and, on my walk to the very first day of my very new job, started my period.

Fuck. You.

Easter brunch was ok. The food was horrible, but the company was compatible.

This phone system is really scary and my heart jumps in my throat every time the phone rings.

Today, a coworker brought his baby in and another coworker jokes, �Look how young we�re hiring NOW.� I couldn�t� help but think that that was directed at me, though they don�t know how old I am, and what do they expect anyway? A 24-year-old with a college degree for a receptionist job? I think not.

After brunch, Samantha and I went to check out the Hayes Valley shopping. It was tremendously depressing, but we got to rant about stupid boutique sales associates and how rude they are. I thought it would be fun to pretend I had money and try on expensive clothes, but it�s only fun if you get to take them home.

So, on this very bad first day of mine, I�ve paid all my bills, shopped for a vintage waitress dress on eBay, rearranged my hair twice, and accidentally hung up on two people, including the company�s most important client. Rock.

one year ago today: nothing.

two years ago today: "the only good thing about this potential situation is that he's harmless."

three years ago today: nothin.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.