And then there were
29 January 2004 at 7:37 am

I am something like 1/8 Jewish. That comment makes me a hypocrite of all sorts because of a discussion I had a bit ago about the Jewish religions versus the Jewish race and how a religion is not a race, and it's pointless to identify with heritage because you're DNA, not a history book. I have never practiced Judaism, nor do I care to practice any religion of any sort, but when I was little I used to relax at the thought that if the fourth reich ever came up, I would be safe.

It wasn't an epiphany or a disappointment or anything to find out that my mother's mother is Jewish, it was just sort of like, Oh. I am the result of many different cultures (English, German Jewish, Irish, Scottish, primarily Lithuanian), but who I am isn't based on those labels, it's based on the fact that my mother and her father are Type A personalities, that my mother's mother is a scatterbrained attention-freak, that my father and his father are properly-raised East Coast alcoholics and that his mother also had an addictive personality.

I suppose that that's just the tip of the iceberg.

One time, in fourth grade, a boy named Daniel said that he was German, and a hush fell over the class because, at that age, everything is literal, so to be German was to be a nazi. When Daniel admitted this, it was almost like he was apologizing, although I went to a Christian school and am almost positive no one [else] was particularly Jewish.

Also, one time I made Lindsey Pugh SWEAR that she wouldn't tell anyone that I didn't go to church.

My philosophy class is pretty much the same philosophy class I took at UCSB, but the teacher is fucking rad, and I made a friend who works at the Fillmore, so I will continue to flirt with him and avoid mentioning that I have a boyfriend in hopes that he will give me free tickets. I am a girl; therefore, I am ruthless. Feminine wiles, hooray!

I was away from the apartment from 7:50am to 9:15pm, and when I got back, Aaron made me a version of lomo saltado, except with chicken, and it was fucking GOOD. So I guess it was saltado del pollo, and I am literally licking my plate clean. Oh, girls: you have got to get you one of these Aaron creatures.

I say: I missed you today.

He says: I missed you too. I stayed in bed all day.

I say: Nuh uh. Because of me?

He says: Because of the lack of you.

one year ago today: "i show up and there are topless girls sucking each other's tits in the kitchen."

two years ago today: "All I need is time..." and "I am a Defender-ship." and "hurrah!" and ""why is eating so much more than eating?" -- joanna"

three years ago today: "i don't NEED a best friend. like i don't need a boyfriend. it's a convenience, but not a necessity." and "i want an aj with the quirks of mark and the intelligence of lucas" and "maybe that's why i'm never happy." and "and i KNOW it's my fucking fault...but i can't help it "

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.