Is that you?
14 December 2003 at 1:07 am

I can't believe I know someone who was in relationship counseling.

(It didn't work. He is emotionally and verbally abusive. I never liked him. I'm debating whether or not to tell her to fight for sole custody.)

I remember hearing the song, "I don't want to grow up, cuz if I did, I wouldn't be a Toys 'R Us kid" and thinking, "Well, I'll never have to worry about That because I really am never growing up! I'll never get older! Hahahahaha!"

If only Slip-N-Slides and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle action figures could resolve a temper tantrum and make my parents the heroes again.

Presents from Dad when he came back from a trip were the best. I don't remember at all what he brought home, but I remember how deliriously excited I was when he opened his briefcase and removed some morsel of love. Actually, I do remember one: mugs from the football hall of fame. One for my brother: it said "Matt"; one for me: it said "Sister" because those 'personalized' products don't make one for Morgan. Ever! Not once!

I've never gotten more compliments on my name than when I worked at Washington Mutual. What was it about being a teller that people felt it appropriate to share every thought on their minds? Was it just our branch? I've never gotten that feeling from any other bank I've been to. Why did I have to choose the branch with the most overly friendly customers?

We were the best branch in the region, though. Seriously, we won an award the year I worked there. Whenever anyone asked what a Premier branch was, I explained that it meant that we had made the most money and gotten the best customer service scores. Then I smiled slyly and said, "It was all me." Nobody ever really laughed at that, but I said it every time.

I miss things (not from the bank, just things), but what are ya gonna do. Make new memories, I guess.

The feast was an unfortunate success, and now I have a headache from too much goodness.

And it sounds like my radiator is about to explode. Everytime it starts working, it spits out water up to five feet away. It has started doing this whiny thing...hum.

[jet rocks, except it seems like during their signature song the lead singer forgets the line and remembers it half a beat too late]

one year ago today: "line out the door. go away." and "everyone would have been coughing and sniffing and someone would have thought i was having a "hey, we're sick" soiree"

two years ago today: nothin.

three years ago today: nothin.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.