ain't it the truth
19 August 2003 at 10:49 am

all i did last night was sleep. and it was glorious.

my very last customer last night asked me why i worked here, so i told her: i dropped out of school to get a job to remind me why i'm in school in the first place, but i'm going back winter quarter. when i told her where i went to school, she was very impressed, and i have no idea why. but it was nice that she doesn't think of me as the banking type.

and then joanna sent me an email that told me why she liked me (i had, after all, been dying to know after 8 years of friendship), and here's why: i recognize and embrace my weaknesses. i guess that's a good thing, but in doing so, i blatantly ignore my strengths.

i once had a teacher who told me that instant gratification is, like, the worst thing ever, and i'm still wondering why. how can we seize the day and appreciate every moment if we're practicing self-restraint to build character for a future that may not come?

nothing else new. barbecue with liz and adam on thursday. i wish i had a xanax. and apparently, i look glum today. damn you, hormones! damn you, unfriendly visage!

one year ago today: "i would write about my first day at work except i'm too tired to actually give a damn."


two years ago today: "I think it's high time I murdered an abusive male and took a road trip with drew barrymore, don't you?" and: "if i don't have time to contemplate how terrible or how great it could be, i don't have time to be let down. expectations are bad! bad!"

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.