i took spanish
07 August 2002 at 3:49 am

when was the last time you used the term "wheel barrow"?

well, next time, be prepared and say it in french: 'des brouettes.' impress your friends! impress your construction guy! impress yourself!

it is 3:41am and i just glanced down at the piece of paper i've been stepping on all night: joanna's vocab for her summer school course in french. along with "wheel barrow," the following words are translated:

"the tarmac" (le macadam)

"wild beans" (haricots sauvages)

"a crack" (un interstice)

"glutton" (goinfre)

"brothel" (un deputodrome ou bordel)

"seeds" (des graines)

"to make ashamed" (rendre honteux)

"a lamppost" (un reverbere)

"cherub" (les cherubins)

i can't imagine the exercises the teacher uses to pound these terms into her students' heads, but i'm sure as hell going to try:

//Please translate: In the brothel, I am ashamed to use my seeds on the tarmac in a wheelbarrow with a glutton.//

nerk.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.