amber is the color of your energy
17 May 2002 at 7:58 pm

so i went to see a movie.

about a boy. it was so unbelievably godawful. i mean, the book wasn't that great, but i really liked the ellie character and she totally didn't have any purpose in the movie at all. in the book she was absolutely pivotal. and I HATE ALTERNATE ENDINGS!! sigh.

then we went to get chinese food, sarah and i. we saw members of anne's clique and said hi to none of them, except for siobhan, the sex-shop manager. i bought sarah a vibrator for a "hi, i'm leaving you" present. she is much obliged. i felt like such a lesbian couple buying it. i was trying to pull it off ... yeah, i go to sex shops all the time, no biggee. it worked until we went up to buy it and the guy said, "uh, because there are no returns [embarrassed smirk] we have to...uh...test it." that, and there's just something disconcerting about looking at a wallfull of slimy phalli.

then i thought, why does this have to be so awkward? i mean, buying and using gum brings one satisfaction but isn't a blush-inducing activity. so why is something as basic and inevitable as sex so embarrassing?

then i went to buy cigarettes (i'm giving lucky strikes a try ... my brother says they fit my personality ... whatev) and some very creepy 40-something alcoholic hit on me.

"did you do that yourself?" he queried, referring to my blunt-cut, black hair with green stripes.

"uh...yeah," i hesitantly responded.

"it looks good. damn girl, and with the [purple clear-lensed cat-eye-ish] glasses...you flashin!" he exclaimed pleasantly. ew.

tonight is dedicated to selling the rest of my stash to a friend of a friend, getting shitfaced at david's with sarah and possibly christine and other random people, and...well, that's about it.

i'm not leaving til monday, apparently. i have no idea what to do until the friend of a friend called. doo doo doo. perhaps i will smoke and call random people.

that was so utterly annoying. a gaggle of girls just walked in and i heard them talking outside my room looking for my roommate and then they came in and tried to play it off like they were...uh...just coming in to...uh...come in...uh...yeah. i mean, why pretend?

facades take way too much energy. i should know.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.