closed captioning provided by morgan's psyche
2001-08-16 at 12:27 a.m.

Is it strange of me to prefer watching tv with the closed captioning on? That way, if I miss a sentence or something I can look down real quick, and there it is! Or if I didn't understand something, there it is!

The Mr. Peepers snl skit was funny the first time. It is no longer humorous in any way.

I could not sleep last night. Maybe that's what going to bed at 4 and waking up at 2 all summer does to a person. I tried sleeping with my head facing the other way around, where my feet usually are, because i read somewhere that it's bad feng shui in terms of sleeping if you sleep with your feet facing the door.....anyway, that didnt' work. so i turned back around and finally fell asleep around 3 or 4ish. I woke up at 8, all by myself!! well, with an alarm, but nobody else, and hit the snoozerino a couple of times. Then I woke up, took a nice shower, and got ready with time to spare. So I ate a large breakfast to prep for the 8-hour shift at the gap. I left and made it in plenty of time. It's nice to take one's time in the morning. A good start and all that.

So, work. It started out cool...Stacy said I was the main cashier, and then kind of laughed in a nervous manner because we all know how much I suck at that. But I actually did ok. After I took my first break, though, they put me in the fitting rooms where I stayed. By myself. For the rest of my shift. 4 hours. By myself.

I despise the fitting rooms. All you do is hang clothes. Well, you're supposed to do other stuff. A sample of what's supposed to occur during a fitting room transaction:

[Person enters]

Me: Hello, how are you doing today? Would you like to try those on?

Person: Yes.

[I take clothing from them and proceed to count them.]

Me: Alright, you have x items. You can come right in here. My name's Morgan. If you need another size or color, simply hang the garment over the door and someone will come help you. Mmkay?

Person: Thank you, helpful fitting room girl!

Here's how it usually goes:

[Person enters]

Me: Ready?

Person: Yes.

Me: Go ahead.

Occasionally, I'll tell them about the hanging thing if I'm bored. If I'm really on top of my game I'll throw my name in there. Counting the items is so pointless, though, because no one ever really said to check the items after the person is through. WASTE O TIME. Yeah, so they had me doing that all day. It would get really busy for 30 minutes and I would get really behind on goback (clothing people try on but don't buy and then I put it back) but I would always catch up eventually. I would ask for help with 3 people wanted different sizes and my little corner of the rroom was compeltely full of unfolded or unhung clothes. I would ask again. I would ask one more time. No one would respond. Were they busy? Possibly. But I know at least 1 wasn't busy with a customer and could have taken 5 minutes to find a size for me or do some gobacks.

I dealt.

The highlight of the day was when a lady with a hopping 3 year old asked to use our bathroom. As is customary to the GAP'S PROCEDURE, NOT MINE, i said we didn't have one. she said that we did because she'd used it once. so i asked on our nifty headsets if a lady with a 3yearold could use the restroom and april said no because we were receiving a shipment. i told the lady that and she spat at me, "well, YOU'LL have to clean up the mess when she pees all over the place!" yes, lady, this is my fault. thank you for putting me in my place. i am scum.

this highlight overtopped 3 women with babies, 2 of which needed to breastfeed their children and 1 of which needed to change a poopy diaper. a smelly, poopy diaper. it also came before april the ditzy manager came in and asked in a pitiful, mydogjustdied voice, "morgan? where are the numbers?" (we're supposed to put the corresponding number of garments taken into the dressing room on the door. again, WASTE O TIME, as previously discussed.) i said i was busy with gobacks. then she said, "and do these people know your name?" i could have lied, but no. i said nope. and she stared at me like the scum of the earth that i apparently am and walked out.

ah, yes, the icing on the cake is always great.

finally, 5:30 came around and jamie came in and i complained and complained to her while she gloated about the 3 days she had left before she quit. sigh. unfortunately, i am in dire need of money and i spent $1000some on my credit card last month and i need ot pay $674 of it to my mum because i'm cool like that. so i'll only have $400 in the bank while i really wanted to have $2000. but i figure that my next to paychecks will be about $200 each, and the art dealer thing will get me another $100, so i'll have $500 and that's close enough.

after work, i went to dinner with my mum and her friends and sat through them droning on about stuff i don't know about and thus dont' care about (mortgages? salaries? bad jobs?) for an hour and a half and then finally got home. so my day sucked, but i had an enjoyable evening.

I had a long talk with Namita tonight about sexuality and came to no conclusions but got some other perspectives. She's so lucky -- she had a boyfriend for 2 years and they mutually broke up and are still really close. A week later, another boy confessed his love for her and now they're talking about their future while he's in Mexico for a year. That's not lucky by my standards, since romantic relationships and I don't really get along, but it's good for her. So good for her.

Very Cherry New Light Better Taste! Fat Free Yoplait yogurt is not nearly as wonderful as Red Raspberry New Light Better Taste! Fat Free Yoplait yogurt.

After the sex talk with Namita concluded, I went to Joanna's in my blue Old Navy pjs and my white Gap shirt, or the comfiest outfit ever. You know it's going to be a good night when you can go out of the house in the same clothes you sleep in. Indeed, it was an enjoyable evening. She was making a bedspread (which she's done before...though she's not a supercraftmama as one might think). We talked about stuff of substance while I painted my eyes smoky black and my lips goth red. scary but fun. it's great to juts show up at someone's house, wearing the aforementioned pjs, and talk about stuff that has been mulling around in my head but i haven't had a chance to discuss with anyone and have that person say, "yeah, i was thinking about that too." it's just nice, you know? she's leaving this saturday, but i'm going to visit her in a few weeks at the end of august, so i'm not really thinking about missing her. actually, with joanna, i don't really miss her because every time we hang out it's like no time has passed, no matter how much time has passed. we don't have one of those superficial relationships where we have to say, ohmygodi'llmissyousomuchyouhavetowritelet'scalleveryotherweekyouhavetocomevisitme. (get that?) it's nice.

i'm typing a lot trying to get used to my new keyboard. so far so good. a lot of typos becuase i'm used to the "natural" keyboard, so lots of backspacing.

the movie "o" was made i think 3 years ago and is just now being released. it looks really uninteresting.

note to self: when i'm in my 20s, go to bali sometime. i admit with shame that i watch and often enjoy e!'s "wild on" series, and they had "wild on bali" last night and it seemed so relaxing and spiritual.

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.