Quotes from Rushmore
2001-05-08 at 2:11 p.m.

Normally, you can tell how a movie's going to be by it's previews. But take a look at the random sampling of previews from Rushmore: Celebrity (excellent), She's All That (ugh), Velvet Goldmine (haven't seen it yet, but highly "liberal"). Ahhh, I love this movie. Via Max:

  • But couldn't you just let me float by? For old time's sake?

  • (What are you gonna do)The only thing I can do: try to pull some strings in the administration, I guess.

  • "When one man, for whatever reason, has the opportunity to lead an extraordinary life, he has no right to keep it to himself." -Jacques-Yves Cousteau

  • (I always though that's why you picked Dirk as your chaple partner.) "What are you, a lawyer?"

  • I think you just gotta find something you love to do and then do it for the rest of your life. For me, that's going to Rushmore.

  • Maybe I'm spending too much time starting clubs and putting on plays. (That's possible). I should probably be trying harder to score chicks.

  • (You're like one of those clippership captains. You're married to the sea.) Yes, that's true. But I've been out to see for a long time.

  • (I didn't have a major, but my thesis was on Latin American economic policy.) Well, that's interesting. Did you hear they're not going to teach Latin here anymore?

  • (Never in my wildest imaginations did I ever dream I'd have sons like these.)

  • (So you've changed your mind and you want the job.) No. I have an idea and I want some money.

  • (What happened to your nose?) I got punched in the face. What's your excuse?

  • I like your nurse's uniform, Guy. (These are OR scrubs). Oh, are they?

  • (I am his friend, Dirk). Oh yeah, with friends like you who needs friends? --Dirk.

  • I saved Latin. What did you ever do?

  • Excuse me. I just came by to thank you for ruining my life.

  • (And how long will you be staying with us, Mr. Bloom?) Indefinitely. I'm being sued for divorce. (Very good, sir.) Yo, shorty!

  • Who told you that goddamn lie? Nevermind, I know who said it. And I'm gonna send him back to Ireland in a body bag. (He's from Scotland.) Well tell that stupid mick he just made my list of things of things to do today.

  • (You said you wanted to put an end to all this) Oh, yeah. I was gonna have that tree over there fall on you.

  • You probably can't hear me because I don't know if your brain is damaged or what -- (What do you want?) (That's the first thing he's said in 10 days).

  • So this is where it all happens. (All what happens?) I wouldn't know. So why'dja dump Bloom?

  • (I thought the aquarium was your idea.) Well, yes. But I gave it to a friend.

  • (Well, you can stick it up your little ass, you little prick.) I must admit, Magnus. You've got a way with words.

  • (I understand you're a neurosurgeon.) No, I'm a barber. But a lot of people make that mistake. --Mr Fischer

    0 comments

    mod l post-mod

    |

  • New
    Old
    Profile
    Notes
    Extras
    Contact
    Image
    Host
    Trackback

    About me
    Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.