a bad day was had by all
2001-04-26 at 9:23 p.m.

Kute Koala [9:14 PM]: shoot me now

Nrmurthy01 [9:14 PM]: why?

Kute Koala [9:14 PM]: i had a bad day

Nrmurthy01 [9:14 PM]: what happened?

Kute Koala [9:14 PM]: it's a long story, so give me a few to type

Nrmurthy01 [9:15 PM]: ok

Kute Koala [9:16 PM]: so, today was The Day of the "8th Grade Invasion" thing in which 3000 8th graders come to my college campus and the College Connections people lead them around on tours, 50 teenyboppers to 2 tourguides, plus a few chaperones. right. It's going to suck, and I know this far in advance. Oh, but it goes far beyond "suck". It was about 90 degrees today, so we were wandering around lookign for all these random places that we were supposed to show the 8th graders for presentations and such, and half of the

Kute Koala [9:17 PM]: presentations didn't exist and the other half we missed because we were late because we were expected to spend 5 minutes at each presentation an dthen take 2 minutes to walk to the next presentation and you CANNOT move 50 people across a campus in 2 minutes, let alone 50 whiny 8th graders. So we have less than no control over our group, we only see a few of the demonstrations, and then the other tourguide has to leave to go to a class so I'm by myself dyuring lunch, when all the othe 3000 8th graders are

Kute Koala [9:18 PM]: wandering around the same area. I tell my kids to go loose and when I scream our team name, to come back to me. THen I hear one of the teachers in charge of the day bitching about how people were messing everything up by letting their kids loose. Iwas like, haha, tha's me! I didn't ask to be put in charge of 50 brats, you put me in charge; deal with it! So finally, the busses arrive and I herd my group together in a measly 15 minutes and get them loaded. That hellish portion of my day is done with.

Nrmurthy01 [9:20 PM]: sounds like hell...I'm sorry..I know you hate taking charge

Kute Koala [9:20 PM]: Now some better news: I won this 1-week free membership at a local gym, so I went in to get signed up and I'm all psyched and i'm going to work out tomorrow for free, woo hoo! Then, I go get m yhair cut and it looks marvelous marvelous (just an inch off for health purposes). THen, work. My watch was for some reason 45 minutes fast, so I show up for work 45 minutes early and then this girl annie is like, can you cover for me? and i say sure since i'm there already and it's all good until the other

Kute Koala [9:22 PM]: hostess comes in and shes' having a horrible week because she's been all vomity and she's started her period today and she's just awful so I have to take charge. Then my manager cuts the floor so there are less servers serving and so we end up overseating people and get bitched at for that, even though that's our FUCKING JOB and we're like, there are tables in plain few open and we're just supposed to say, no, you can't be seated yet? and my manager says, yup, unless joe (the owner) comes in, and then we

Kute Koala [9:23 PM]: have to seat like crazy. so if the owner wants us to seat as tables are available, why shouldn't we do that always, as is his policy? grrr. finally, my manager lets me go early, and then I discover that my weekend is show. I'm working friday 5-9, and after this week i'll have to sleep right after and ew. Saturday, I'm working 5-closing, which is around 12, and it's prom night and I really awnt to go to some afterprom parties, but now i can't because i'm working so late and then I have to wake up at 9

Kute Koala [9:23 PM]: the next morning to work the 10-2 opening hostess shift, and then I have to work again from 5-9 because veryone's going to be gone thsi weekend.

Kute Koala [9:23 PM]: ta da.

Nrmurthy01 [9:24 PM]: you work too hard

Kute Koala [9:24 PM]: i do

Kute Koala [9:24 PM]: especially for my senior year

0 comments

mod l post-mod

|

New
Old
Profile
Notes
Extras
Contact
Image
Host
Trackback

About me
Hi. Morgan, 27, of Santa Barbara, CA. I am a hypocritical admirer of rhetoric (when it is my own) and an observer of literary trends. A secret: I don't take anything very seriously, and that includes myself.